Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

April 3, 2013

My dear mushrooms…  You have always held a special place in my heart.  Even when I was a toddler, my parents would insist that cooked mushrooms were my favorite snack.  My college roommate, Jen, will tell you that I could cure a hangover with a strange combination of sauteed mushrooms and coffee (eek!).  Today, in my twenties, the mushroom lust has stayed with me and I have found better ways to cook with them.  Now, the only problem is… I cannot make my boyfriend consume them.  However, I should not complain.  More for me!

Earlier this week, I dusted off the grill.  Hamburgers for him and these, heaven-sent, feta stuffed portobello mushrooms for me.  The flavor is explosive and they’re very simple to prepare.  Most of the time, I feel no urge to eat meat, so these mushrooms are a great alternative when I am trying to satisfy food cravings for myself and a meat & potatoes-driven man.  Using the grill to cook both “proteins” just makes things a little easier for a weeknight.

And we’re off!

Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Simplified Feast 1

Gather your ingredients.  I hope that you have at least half of these already in your pantry.  If not, we need to talk…

Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Simplified Feast 2

Using the side of a spoon, carefully remove the stem (if there is one) and the dark gills from the underside of the mushrooms.  We’re making more room for the feta filling.  This stuff is still good to eat, so put the stems and gills in a large bowl… no need to waste!

Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Simplified Feast 5

Cover the caps with olive oil.  Drizzle like a pro.

Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Simplified Feast 3

‘Shroom filling;  Crumbled feta cheese, mushrooms pieces, chopped parsley, breadcrumbs, freshly minced garlic, salt & pepper, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar.

Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Simplified Feast 4

Stir!  Add more olive oil if it’s a little dry.

Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Simplified Feast 6

Stuff and mound caps carefully.  What a glorious sight, right?  Your grill should be heated to medium-high.  I suppose you could make these in the oven, but I love a good char…

Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Simplified Feast 7

Grill for about 10 minutes or until mushrooms have softened, shrunk a little in size, and released water.  Just squeeze them with your tongs, you’ll know when they’re done.  Serve hot with garlic and parsley roasted potatoes and a big salad.  Dinner is done!

For the full recipe, click here:  Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Simplified Feast

2 Responses to “Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms”


  1. […] Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms (simplifiedfeast.wordpress.com) […]


  2. […] Feta Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms (simplifiedfeast.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

