Prosciutto Pizza with Caramelized Onions and Arugula

May 18, 2013

As I was typing the title for this post, it dawned on me that I always seem to be uncertain about the spelling of “prosciutto”.  That whole c-i-u bit just throws me off.  Never fear, trusty spell-check to the rescue… and it came up with “prostitute”.  I chuckled.  Although, in a very terrible, round-about kind of way, that word isn’t far from the truth when describing this pizza.  Just bear with me.  I would totally pay money to eat this pizza… and keep coming back for more.  If I saw it on a menu in a restaurant, I would order it without restraint.  No hesitations, just insta-happy.

…Err, okay!  Enough of that before I go too far.  This pizza was darn good, that’s all I’m trying to say.

Now, the ingredient list for this ultimately satisfying pizza is fairly simple, but soooo special.  Now is the time to finally buy that package of Italian prosciutto you’ve been eyeing since last year when figs were in season.  Prosciutto-wrapped figs anyone?  Buy some fresh mozzarella and pre-made pizza dough to make life a little easier.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 1
See, simple and b-e-a-utiful:  Pizza dough, thin sliced prosciutto, parmesan cheese, caramelized onions, fresh mozzarella, and a tomato-pesto sauce that I’ll show you in a moment.  Kosher salt and arugula not pictured.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 2
Start with the caramelized onions.  They will need at least 25-30 minutes to cook properly.. and we must be proper.  Thinly slice 1 red onion; peel, cut in half, slice carefully.  My “thinly-slicing skills” are not the best, so it’s okay if some are almost paper-thin and some just “thin”… it’ll all work out in the end.  While slicing, have a medium saute pan over medium-low heat with a few glugs of olive oil.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 13
Caramelization!  Getting to the last photo will take longer than you think.  Low and slow, patience grasshopper.  EXTRA FLAVOR BONUS POINTS:  Add a tablespoon or so of brown sugar and a pinch of kosher salt.  A little sweet and savory.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 3
This step is a modification to the original recipe.  I can’t say no to not having just a little tomato sauce on a pizza.  Here, I simply mixed pre-made tomato sauce with bit of pre-made pesto.  Pre-made, shpre-made!  Take it easy on yourself.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 12

Last year I discovered that my grocery store sells little bags of pre-made, pre-risen, pre-yeasted, pre-rip my hair out ’cause my homemade dough didn’t rise… dough.  These little bags of heaven are located by the deli section and cost just over $2.00.  Take advantage of someone doing the dirty work for you.  PLEASE NOTE:  Take the dough out of the refrigerator before starting to cook/prep.  The dough needs to come to room temperature before it can even remotely be stretched to the edges of what ever pan you’re using.  Also, we’re not making two prosciutto pizzas.  The other was for the mega meat lover of the house.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 4
Preheat your oven to 450 degrees… it’s assembly time.  Sprinkle the pizza dough with a little kosher salt and parmesan cheese.  Please disregard my nail color, I did that on an (intentional) whim.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 5
Caramelized onions go first in an even layer.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 6

“Plops” of the tomato basil sauce go next.  Pretend like you’re the artist, Jackson Pollock, but less aggressive.  After your finished with your abstract expressionist work of art, the fresh mozzarella slices go down.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 7

Lastly, the prosciutto slices are added haphazardly and topped with more parmesan cheese… and the most beautiful pizza is born!  Into the oven it goes for about 15-18 minutes.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 11

While the pizza is baking, pour yourself a drink (you’ve earned it), and head out into the garden for some fresh arugula.  Store-bought will do obviously, but I strongly advise that you grow you’re own.  It’s easy, I promise!  Oh, and I have a salad spinner.  It’s super useful.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 9

Presto!  Pile that arugula high.  It’s like salad + pizza in one.  Arugula adds such a nice peppery flavor and crunch.  It’s also a little awkward to eat, but the effort is worth it.

Prosciutto Pizza from Simplified Feast 10

Please do as the cool kids do and Instagram your dinner.  DIG IN BIG TIME.  I should tell you that it tasted great with a Gin Rickey… my new favorite concoction.  Happy eating!

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman.  For the full recipe, click here:  Prosciutto Pizza with Caramelized Onions and Arugula from Simplified Feast

One Response to “Prosciutto Pizza with Caramelized Onions and Arugula”

  1. Tom Gregory Says:

    Well done. I can’t wait to give it a try! I think a bit of Merlot for the prelude will better suit me.


Leave a Reply

