Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

December 1, 2013

I’ll be the first to admit, I’ve never been the most trendy person.  I certainly failed with these patchwork jeans that my friends and I deemed cool in middle school.  Someone is now selling them on Etsy as “vintage bellbottoms”, and I’m just not sure I can be okay with that.

Alas, when the bacon-in-everything fad hit the culinary scene not too long ago, I remained hesitant to try anything.  Yeah, yeah, yeah… “the combination of sweet and salty is just irresistible!”, but I think I can also attain that from good, old-fashioned salt and not have to put a pork product near my sweets.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies from Simplified Feast 1

But then, one day my curiosity (and abundance of leftover cooked bacon in my fridge) got the best of me.  I added the salty, chopped bacon to my chocolate chip cookie dough, winced, and then hoped for the best.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies from Simplified Feast 2

Fantastic, yet strange is how I can describe these cookies.  They’re undeniably delicious… chewy, yet crunchy.  Sweet, yet salty with a bit of smoke.  Dark chocolate + Bacon + Cookie = YES, PLEASE.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies from Simplified Feast 3

After some mixing, bacon chopping, dough refrigeration, and rolling into balls, these cookies bake to visual perfection… just about.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies from Simplified Feast 4

I urge you to just face your fears and add bacon.  Be trendy my friends… just don’t waste your money on those patchwork pants.

Recipe slightly adapted from I Am A Food Blog.  For the full recipe, click here:  Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies from Simplified Feast

One Response to “Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Rachel T Says:

    yum lauren! was in san francisco and tried a bacon apple maple donut. matt was hesitant, me and baby…chowed down! http://dynamodonut.com/our_donuts.html#thumb


Leave a Reply

